My first flat - Suzuki Van Van 200 Forum
 21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 02:55 PM Thread Starter

My first flat

I've been riding for about 13 years and never had a flat. Until today! lol 35 miles on the odometer and a flat to show.

Seeing it on that giant tow truck was hilarious, though.

But now I get to learn how to fix it myself. The Motorsports shop, where I purchased it, wanted $21 for the tube and $81 for labor. No thanks.

I'll update this thread as my journey unfolds. May be a day or two; wanted to see my sister and my niece today 🙂
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191005_123704_1570298044840.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	175.6 KB
ID:	3222   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191005-135334_1570298060517.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	3224   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191005_131204_1570298072297.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	165.6 KB
ID:	3226  
Flyin'Monkeys likes this.
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 06:47 PM

That's the crap side of having tubed tires -- almost no way to fix it roadside. Tubeless tires can be plugged/pumped up or Fix-A-Flat will often work. Forget about it with tubed tires -- it's remove the tire, patch the tube, re-install tube and tire, pump up tire. Now, how many folks today even know how to do this? Or have the tools roadside to do it?
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 07:18 PM

I think I had the same thing, except mine was a roofing screw. I started to ride it & it was real squirrelly.

Our local shop wants $100 also.

I took into to my local tire shop, he patched tire & tube for $20. He is a former student of mine and does all my tires & the farmer across the road. So Iím up there 4 times this summer. I got 3 new tires on my other bikes. You have to take the tire in though.

Hoopeston,IL/Quartzsite/AZ

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-06-2019, 10:57 AM Thread Starter