• 2 Post By juliana
  • 1 Post By EtniesFreak
  • 1 Post By ILIV
  • 1 Post By jef
  • 1 Post By ILIV

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2019, 02:11 PM Thread Starter

Service intervals

I have seen photos of the original Suzuki service manual on the Internet (actually this forum even I believe) and I own Hayne's Suzuki VanVan service manual.

I'm still fairly new to motorcycles and especially servicing them so after a couple years of owning RV200 I noticed that some things don't really match suggested service intervals.

For example, I have to adjust chain every 400-500 km while the Hayne's service manual suggests check/adjust every 1,000 km.

My air filter is still just like brand new after 8,000 km even though I ride about 30-40% off road and Hayne's recommends replacing it after 8,000 km.

My spark plug is also just like new, meeting gap specifications and visually it's in an almost perfect state.

Valve clearances were checked by a mechanic at the shop some 4,000+km ago and he was surprised to see them well within the specs. I want them to take a look again now but we were pretty sure that nobody had checked them at 4K interval before that one last time and yet they were in a very good state.

My front brake disc was in excellent state as well but I still replaced it as I wanted to ensure that all major components on this bike were new when I bought it second hand.

So, I noticed that the suggested service intervals can be drastically different. E.g. I may have to replace a spark plug and air filter way beyond 8,000 km. However, the chain needs more frequent servicing.

I'm asking myself now what else is different. What are the more realistic service intervals?

What is your experience? Any words of advice for the aspiring DIY motorcycle mechanic?
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2019, 05:54 PM
rws

simple...use the service schedule in the owners manual that came with your bike
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2019, 07:28 PM